Witches and Wizards

Today was a LONG day. We’re talking 5 classes, each an hour and a half long, a meeting with the education academic advisor, and in less than an hour I will be off on a 7 hour straight meeting marathon. We’re talking APO, HPA, online, group projects, the works. However, this is a relatively short post.

FIRST I’m going to tell you all about my obsession with Harry Potter.

When I was about 6 my mom and dad were watching one of the Harry Potter marathons that was running on ABC Family. You know the ones. They run practically once a week. 6 year old Raye saw mommy and daddy watching a movie and she wanted to too! The beginning was all dark so she thought it was going to be some sort of horror movie, but stuck around anyways and has been addicted ever since.

20 year old Raye still has her room at home decorated with a Harry Potter theme, has Harry Potter posters hung in her apartment, still goes dressed as Hermione for Halloween, and has what might be according to some people an ‘unhealthy’ amount of memorabilia (including sweatshirts, t-shirts, postcards, pens, soundtracks, stickers, wallets, luggage tags, pillows, blankets, notebooks, wands, key chains, time turner, etc.). Hell, I even have a snitch hanging from my ceiling. I’ve taken the quiz about 3 times and I always get Hufflepuff (#puffpride). I have one copy of all the books (and they are sacred), I’ve visited the museum exhibits from the movies, and now, I am the event planner for the University of Illinois Harry Potter Alliance Club. (EEK! :D)

So today when I opened my door to the mailman and got a package that had a REPLICA HARRY POTTER EXERCISE BOOK, I screamed and might have scared the mailman a bit. (Another thing: I am totally obsessed with would be school/office supplies. It’s an addiction I can’t afford as a broke college student, but trust me when I say I have whole Pinterest boards dedicated to the cause. )

With tonight being my first meeting with the Harry Potter Alliance as they teach me the ropes, I can’t WAIT to put my new notebook and pencils to work!

Leave a Reply

