Green Day, Great Night

The Green Day Concert was probably the most hardcore rock experience I’ve ever had. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been to other concerts (P!ATD, 5SOS, 1975 to list my favorites), but none of them could truly compare to the Old School Rock™ that I saw Tuesday night. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that Panic! at the Disco isn’t one of my favorite bands of all time, or that 5 Seconds of Summer or The 1975 don’t hold a special place in my heart, or even that they weren’t the best god-damn concerts I’d ever been to- but none of those concerts displayed the show of diversity, community, or nostalgia that Green Day brought to the Assembly Hall (now called State Farm Center(booo)). Which I’m sure makes me sound super young and uncultured to those of you who are reading this that are at least 5 years older than me. Sue me.

Green Day_1-1

Most everyone was engaged in the actual concert, sure, pictures were being taken for memories sake, but no one was filming the whole time and completely missing the moment (one of my pet peeves). In the words of the lead singer, Billie Joe Armstrong, “If you’re looking at me through the screen of your camera phone- phone camera? Who cares- If you’re looking at me through a screen, you aren’t really looking at ME”. Profound.

Throughout the show the band members invited members of the audience to come up and perform, be it sing a few verses, play a few chords on the guitar, or crowd surf. The pyrotechnics were on fire (heh), and the lights were strobing and blinding. I walked out of the concert deaf, and hoarse. Just the way I like it. Granted that Nat and I didn’t have the closest of seats, but we still had an amazing time! Nat and I got matching t-shirts (and I’ve worn mine almost everyday since).

Green Day_1-2

Can’t wait for my next concert!

RayeDeSol

Leave a Reply

