Unofficial

Happy Unofficial!

For those of you who are blissfully unaware, unofficial is the Unofficial St. Patrick’s Day celebrated here, at the University of Illinois. I believe this is its 20th anniversary. Today is a whole day dedicated to wearing green and getting unnecessarily drunk. ALL DAY. As a townie, today is the day that everyone in town avoids campus. We all make sure that we have enough milk to last the weekend, we go to work/ school, then come straight home. Nothing in between.

This year, I am holing myself in my dorm room instead of going to one of my friends’ hot tub parties. (Horrible planning in my opinion)

I’ve spent this afternoon taking a  midterm, making muffins with my oven that won’t preheat to save a life, and at one point, I laughed at my roommate who decided to make Jello shots- without knowing how to make Jello in the first place. It wasn’t until about 3/4 of the way through her Jello making that I decided to tell her that there are instructions on the Jello box.

She struggled through the Jello shots, but unable to wait for the Jello to harden, she decided to make a margarita. Now, I am a bit of an alcohol virgin. I’ve tried a few different types once or twice, but I’ve hated it each time. My roommates however, are determined to make an alcoholic out of me and are continuing to offer me different types of alcohol, but only every once in a while. I am trying to be open to a lot of different things and have the ‘whole college experience’ or whatever. ANYHOW, Alyssa, my roommate making all of this alcohol, makes a margarita because she wants more immediate results, and she’s feeling the alcoholic spirit. She has been grilling me on the different types of alcohol I’m willing to try or want to try, and she offers me a sip of her margarita. I agree. She pours some into a different cup- way more than just a sip- and sets it on the table, leaving the room with a “You can try it, you can throw it out- I don’t care. It’s up to you now.”

I sit and contemplate the drink. It doesn’t smell horrible, I guess. As I think, one of my other roommates comes in and asks me about my day and such. At some point Nikki asks what I have, and I say “some of Alyssa’s margarita. I’m trying it. ” at which point I take a sip, make a face and promptly spit it back into the cup- right as Alyssa walks out of her room.

I feel sort of bad for not liking her alcohol, but at the same time, I don’t, because it’s just not my thing.

To get the horrible taste out of my mouth I shove a whole muffin into my mouth, nearly choking.

They all laughed at me.

I will be in my room reading for the rest of the day out of disgust for this ‘holiday’, and for the pleasure of it finally being the weekend.

Have a good one guys!

rayedesol

Leave a Reply

